2016 Aurora awards winners

For complete results& statistics: http://www.prixaurorawards.ca/aurora-awards/

The following is the complete list of winners:

  • Best English Novel: A Daughter of No Nation by A.M. Dellamonica, Tor Books
  • Best English YA Novel: An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet, Scholastic Canada/Clarion Books
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Waters of Versailles” by Kelly Robson, Tor.com
  • Best English Poem/Song: “Origami Crane / Light Defying Spaceship” by Naru Dames Sundar, Liminality, Issue 5 Autumn
  • Best English Graphic Novel: The Lady ParaNorma by Vincent Marcone, ChiZine Publications
  • Best English Related Work: Second Contacts edited by Michael Rimar & Hayden Trenholm, Bundoran Press
  • Best Visual Presentation: Orphan Black, Season 3, John Fawcett and Graeme Manson, Temple Street Productions
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr, covers for ChiZine Publications
  • Best Fan Publication: Speculating Canada edited by Derek Newman-Stille
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, Chair, When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Best Fan Related Work: Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating, Canada on Trent Radio 92.7 FM

Online AGM voting closes this Tuesday

If you are unable to attend this year’s AGM at When Words Collide there are just a few days left to vote.  Our online forms make it easy and quick.  Your feedback is important to us.  We no longer allow proxy voting.  You must either vote online or in-person on Sunday August 14th at 9am in the Canmore room at the Delta Calgary South hotel.

 Online voting closes at midnight EDT on Tuesday, August 9th, 2016.

 The agenda for this year’s vote has some important items that will impact a number of the fan categories.  Full details can be found at: http://www.prixaurorawards.ca/2016-agm-agenda/

 To vote online for this year’s AGM log into your account and then go to:  http://www.prixaurorawards.ca/agm-voting-page/  

Voting for the 2016 Aurora Awards closes this Saturday night

Voting closes at the end of day on Saturday, July 23rd at midnight EDT.  That’s 9pm for those in BC, 10pm in Alberta and 1am on Sunday for those in Nova Scotia.   

As an added incentive, Kobo Canada is now sponsoring a prize of a free Kobo e-reader that will be drawn at When Words Collide (www.whenwordscollide.org ) for one of our members who voted for this year’s awards.  

Your vote matters.  Download/Read/Vote.  Check out the new Best Visual Presentation category.

Kobo Canada sponsors prize for Aurora Award voters

We would like to announce that CSFFA and the Aurora awards have a special new sponsor.  We are pleased to announce that Kobo Canada is now sponsoring a prize of a free Kobo e-reader for a 2016 CSFFA member who votes for this year’s awards.   

We would like to thank Mark Lefebvre, Director, Self-Publishing & Author Relations with Kobo Canada (Mark Leslie for his readers) who has arranged for this wonderful prize.  Mark will draw the winning name at When Words Collide in Calgary at the Guest of Honour Keynote speeches, Friday night, August 12th at 7pm.  When Words Collide / Canvention 36, www.whenwordscollide.org. 

All members of CSFFA who vote for this year’s awards will be automatically entered into the draw.  If you do not wish to be included into the draw please email us.  You do not have to be in attendance at the draw to win.

Voting is Open

For those that have not heard, voting for this year’s Aurora Awards is open.  Voting is open to all paid CSFFA members.  CSFFA membership is open to all Canadians and Landed Immigrants.  CSFFA members also have access to our voters package which contains e-versions of all of the nominated works.  Download/Read/Vote.  Make your membership count.  Voting closes at Midnight EST at the end of day, Saturday July 23rd.

2016 Prix Aurora-Boréal

Auroran Lights #19 (June 2016)

added to newsletter section


Prix Aurora Boréal 2016  Nominees and Winners

(Recipients in bold)

Prix Aurora-Boréal • Best Novel

Best novel of science fiction or fantasy published in French by a Canadian writer published in Canada in 2015.

  •  Philippe-Aubert Côté: Le Jeu du Démiurge (Alire)
  • Frédérick Durand: Au rendez-vous des courtisans glacés (version intégrale) (Les Six Brumes)
  • Frédérick Durand: Quand s’éteindra la dernière chandelle (Black Coat Press)
  • Éric Gauthier: La grande mort de mononc’ Morbide (Alire)
  • Yves Meynard: Les Marches de la lune morte (Alire

Prix Aurora-Boréal • Best Short Fiction

Best short science fiction or fantasy published in French by a Canadian writer published in Canada in 2015.

  • Geneviève Blouin: « L’Enchanteresse portait des Lévi’s » (Solaris 195)
  • Élise Lucie Henripin: « Baptême » (Clair/Obscur 13)
  • Pierre-Luc Lafrance: « Dans ses pas » (L’arracheur de rêves, Les Six Brumes)
  • Jean-Louis Trudel: « Garder un phénix en cage » (Solaris 195)
  • Guillaume Voisine: « Le contraste de l’éternité » (Bizarro, La Maison des viscères)

 Prix Aurora-Boréal • Best related work

Best literary criticism, review, book review, critical works, scenario anthology or collection of science fiction, fantasy or fantasy published in French in 2015 by a Canadian.

  • Pierre-Alexandre Bonin : Article « Je me souviens : modalités de la mémoire artificielle chez Isaac Asimov et Philippe K. Dick » (Solaris 196)
  • Brins d’éternité : Revue, ed. Ariane Gélinas, Alamo St-Jean et Guillaume Voisine
  • Pierre-Luc Lafrance : Recueil L’arracheur de rêves (Les Six Brumes)
  • Solaris : Revue, ed. Joël Champetier
  • Mario Tessier : Chronique « Les Carnets du Futurible » (Solaris 193-196)

Prix Boréal • Audiovisual Artistic Creation

Open to cartoonists, illustrators, painters, sculptors, film-makers, animation directors, and musicians whose work falls in all or part of the science fiction or fantasy genre. There will be only one entry per artist. The award is for the body of work of the year 2015.

  •  Grégory Fromenteau : Couvertures, Le Jeu du Démiurge, Les Marches de la Lune morte, etc.
  • Marie-Claude Landry [Mary Khaos] : Couvertures, Quand s’éteindra la dernière chandelle, Écorché, Bizarro, etc.
  • Érick Lefebvre : Couverture, Clair/Obscur 13, illustrations, Brins d’éternité 40-41, etc.
  • Émilie Léger : Couvertures, Brins d’éternité 40, Solaris 195; illustrations, Solaris 196, etc.
  • Laurine Spehner : Couverture, La Grande Mort de mononc’ Morbide, illustrations, Solaris 193-194, 196, etc.

Prix Boréal • Fan Creations

Non-professional contributions to enrichment the genre that can not be classified in the above categories are eligible. Includes, fanzines, webzines and blogs. A webzine or blog must have published during 2015 a minimum of 10 issues and deal with science fiction, or fantasy, provided that it is not only devoted to self-promotional ads.

The Prix Aurora-Boréal (Awards) were presented at the Congrès Boréal May 22, 2016.