2017 Aurora Awards voting is open

Voting for the 2017 Aurora Awards is now open for CSFFA members.  You have until midnight, EDT on September 2nd, 2017 to cast your ballot.

Warning:  Ballots cannot be edited once you have submitted, so make sure you are happy with your selections.

2017 Voters’ Package

This year’s voters’ package is now open to download.  You can now download ALL the categories.  Please note:  The Best of the Decade and the Fan Organizational download links are above the other categories.

Here’s a link to what is in this year’s voters’ package.

The voters’ package is open to all paid CSFFA members and will be available until voting closes on September 2nd, 2017.  Here is the link to our download page.  The works provided by our nominees and their publishers are for CSFFA members and only CSFFA members.

UPDATED: Sunday, June 11th, 2017


2017 Aurora Award ballot

We are pleased to announce the 2017 Aurora Award ballot.  Voting does not begin until July 15th and will end on September 2nd. This gives CSFFA members plenty of time read the many books and stories.

Click here to open this year’s ballot. 2017 Aurora Awards Ballot

We are planning to have the first release of this year’s voters package available early next week.

This year the we have a special category, The Best of the Decade. This is for works first published between 2001 and the end of 2010 by Canadians.  Multi-volume stories were viewed as a single work.   The six finalists were chosen by a jury of eight readers from across Canada.  Now CSFFA members will decide which of these works will receive the award.

Good luck to this year’s nominees.

Nominations close Today, Midnight EDT

Nominations close TODAY, May 6th, at Midnight EDT.  Don’t miss out.  This is your chance to have your say.  Everyone who nominates is eligible to win a free Kobo eReader from Kobo Canada.

NOTE:  All Fan Music works should be nominated in the Fan Related Work category.  Please do NOT use the other category for your choices.  If you have already nominated something using the Music category please contact us at admin <at> prixaurorawards.ca email.

Kobo eReader draw

We are pleased to announce that Kobo Canada is again sponsoring the Aurora’s this year.  Last year they donated a Kobo eReader for a draw from those who voted.  This year they are donating two Kobo eReaders, one for someone who voted but now also one will be drawn from those members who nominated.

Best of the Decade Aurora Award

This year we are doing a special award to honour novels and multi-volume stories that were written by Canadians between January 2001 and the end of 2010. 

We decided that stories that were published as more than one book, such as a trilogy, would be counted as a single work.  There are a few exceptions.  They would only be combined if they were a single story but split into multiple parts. Some series are just stories set in the same universe.  Those books were not combined and viewed as individual works.  We also decided that if a multi-volume story began before 2001 it would be included.  Those that started in our timeline but do not end until after 2010 would not be included this year.  They will be eligible when we do this again in 10 years. 

Deciding on what will be on the ballot has been a challenge.  The CSFFA board decided to create an independent jury of fans to review a list of works and decide on a short list that will be voted on by the CSFFA membership as part of this year’s Aurora Awards.  The long list of works was over 200 items. 

The winner of this special Aurora Award will be presented with a unique trophy.  It is a six-inch solid clear glass orb with a series of intertwining coloured glass ribbons within it.  The award will be given out in Halifax at Hal-Con this September.

Nominations are now open

Nominations are now open to all paid CSFFA members for works done in 2016 by Canadians .  Before you submit your nominations please review our eligibility lists.  We know that they may not contains absolutely everything that was done but we think they contain most.  If you know of something that is not there please log into your account and add it. 

Nominations close at Midnight EDT on May 6th.  We have shortened the nomination period because we wanted to give more time for people to read the items on the final ballot.  We expect to announce the ballot later in May. 

Your nominations are what makes our awards work.  Nominate what you know and enjoyed.

Eligibility Lists Open

Our eligibility lists are open for any CSFFA account holder to submit works they feel should be nominated for this year’s Aurora awards.  Works must have been originally published or done in 2016.  To submit items please first log into your CSFFA account and then go to our eligibility list page.

Nominations for this year’s awards will open on March 31st and all submissions must be done by May 6th, 2017 at midnight EDT.  To nominate you will need to have a paid 2017 CSFFA membership.