Hall of Fame x

The CSFFA HALL OF FAME recognizes the Outstanding Achievements that have contributed to the stature of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

It can be awarded to Canadian Writers, Publishers, Editors, Poets, Artists, Graphic Novelists, Actors, Producers, Musicians/Filkers, Convention organizers, Fans, Scientists, Astronauts and others .

William Gibson Dave Duncan
Spider & Jeanne Robinson H.A. Hargreaves
  Michael Coney

Video: Dave Duncan receives Hall of Fame Plaque

Τhe Hall of Fame began with those who were previously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award:

E. Van Vogt – Lifetime Achievement: 1980
Susan Wood – Lifetime Achievement: 1981
Phyllis Gotlieb – Lifetime Achievement: 1982
Judith Merril – Lifetime Achievement: 1983 & 1986
Dennis Mullin – Lifetime Achievement: 2008:
Robert J. Sawyer – Lifetime Achievement: 2013

Nominations to the Hall of Fame may be made by any Canadian citizen (or “Landed Immigrant”) from any of the categories shown above (as long as the nominee is Canadian). <HallofFame@prixaurorawards.ca>

Unused nominations are not discarded at the end of the year. They’re brought forward to the next year and the Jury considers them along with the Nominations received that year. The Nominations currently brought forward are:

  • Kelley Armstrong                 writer
  • Margaret Atwood                 writer
  • R. Graeme Cameron           fan, fan writer, publisher, organizer
  • David Cronenberg               film-maker
  • Julie Czerneda                    writer
  • Charles De Lint                   writer, musician
  • Candas Jane Dorsey          writer
  • Tanya Huff                           writer
  • Monica Hughes                   writer, Order of Canada
  • Stan Hyde                           artist/modeller, fan
  • Guy Gavriel Kay                  writer, Order of Canada
  • Eileen Kernaghan                writer
  • Dr. Jaymie Matthews           Scientist
  • Hubert Rogers                     artist
  • Karl Schroeder                     writer
  • David Suzuki                       scientist
  • Elisabeth Vonarburg            writer
  • Lynda Williams                    writer, publisher
  • Robert Charles Wilson        writer



  1. Write as compelling a presentation as you can about why your nominee should be considered for the CSFFA Hall of Fame.
  2. Email it to <HallofFame@prixaurorawards.ca> (or mail it) to CSFFA Hall of Fame c/o 1432 Velvet Road, Gibsons BC V0N 1V5


CSFFA Hall of Fame Guidelines

The CSFFA Hall of Fame Awards is a juried Award; the Jury’s decision is based on nominations submitted by members of CSFFA. Each member of the Jury has 1 vote.

      • The Jury consists of 5 members, 4 of who will have a 1- year term and shall be recruited from among Writers, Artists, Graphic Novelists, Musicians/Filkers, Active Fans, and Scientists.
      • The 5th member of the Jury is appointed by the CSFFA Board of Directors as a member of the Board. He/she will be the Jury Chair and will be the only continuing member of the Jury and will have a term limited to five (5) years, renewable.
      • The Chair’s responsibilities include recruiting the other members of the Jury, distributing the nominations among the Jury, and managing the vote as well as all the other housekeeping duties related to the Hall of Fame.
      • There shall be two new inductees to the Hall of Fame each year. In the first year all those previously awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards in the past shall be added to the Hall of Fame.
      • The Hall of Fame Trophy is a Sculpture with the names of the inductees. It isn’t given out, but instead will travel from Canvention to Canvention on display.
      • The Inductees receive a plaque with the image of the Trophy etched on it.

The CSFFA Hall of Fame Jury for 2016
Clint Budd (CSFFA Board Appointee/ Chair)
Brian Hades 
Karl Johanson
Cathy Palmer-Lister
Yvonne Penney

The CSFFA Hall of Fame Jury for 2015
Clint Budd (CSFFA Board Appointee/ Chair)
Rick LeBlanc
Nina Munteneau
Robert Runté
Chris Szego

The CSFFA Hall of Fame Jury for 2014
Clint Budd (CSFFA Board Appointee/ Chair)
Diane Walton
Lorna Toolis
Robert J. Sawyer
Steve Fahnestalk