All posts by Cliff Samuels

Nominations close Today, Midnight EDT

Nominations close TODAY, May 6th, at Midnight EDT.  Don’t miss out.  This is your chance to have your say.  Everyone who nominates is eligible to win a free Kobo eReader from Kobo Canada.

NOTE:  All Fan Music works should be nominated in the Fan Related Work category.  Please do NOT use the other category for your choices.  If you have already nominated something using the Music category please contact us at admin <at> email.

Kobo eReader draw

We are pleased to announce that Kobo Canada is again sponsoring the Aurora’s this year.  Last year they donated a Kobo eReader for a draw from those who voted.  This year they are donating two Kobo eReaders, one for someone who voted but now also one will be drawn from those members who nominated.

Best of the Decade Aurora Award

This year we are doing a special award to honour novels and multi-volume stories that were written by Canadians between January 2001 and the end of 2010. 

We decided that stories that were published as more than one book, such as a trilogy, would be counted as a single work.  There are a few exceptions.  They would only be combined if they were a single story but split into multiple parts. Some series are just stories set in the same universe.  Those books were not combined and viewed as individual works.  We also decided that if a multi-volume story began before 2001 it would be included.  Those that started in our timeline but do not end until after 2010 would not be included this year.  They will be eligible when we do this again in 10 years. 

Deciding on what will be on the ballot has been a challenge.  The CSFFA board decided to create an independent jury of fans to review a list of works and decide on a short list that will be voted on by the CSFFA membership as part of this year’s Aurora Awards.  The long list of works was over 200 items. 

The winner of this special Aurora Award will be presented with a unique trophy.  It is a six-inch solid clear glass orb with a series of intertwining coloured glass ribbons within it.  The award will be given out in Halifax at Hal-Con this September.

Nominations are now open

Nominations are now open to all paid CSFFA members for works done in 2016 by Canadians .  Before you submit your nominations please review our eligibility lists.  We know that they may not contains absolutely everything that was done but we think they contain most.  If you know of something that is not there please log into your account and add it. 

Nominations close at Midnight EDT on May 6th.  We have shortened the nomination period because we wanted to give more time for people to read the items on the final ballot.  We expect to announce the ballot later in May. 

Your nominations are what makes our awards work.  Nominate what you know and enjoyed.

Eligibility Lists Open

Our eligibility lists are open for any CSFFA account holder to submit works they feel should be nominated for this year’s Aurora awards.  Works must have been originally published or done in 2016.  To submit items please first log into your CSFFA account and then go to our eligibility list page.

Nominations for this year’s awards will open on March 31st and all submissions must be done by May 6th, 2017 at midnight EDT.  To nominate you will need to have a paid 2017 CSFFA membership.

2016 Aurora awards winners

For complete results& statistics:

The following is the complete list of winners:

  • Best English Novel: A Daughter of No Nation by A.M. Dellamonica, Tor Books
  • Best English YA Novel: An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet, Scholastic Canada/Clarion Books
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Waters of Versailles” by Kelly Robson,
  • Best English Poem/Song: “Origami Crane / Light Defying Spaceship” by Naru Dames Sundar, Liminality, Issue 5 Autumn
  • Best English Graphic Novel: The Lady ParaNorma by Vincent Marcone, ChiZine Publications
  • Best English Related Work: Second Contacts edited by Michael Rimar & Hayden Trenholm, Bundoran Press
  • Best Visual Presentation: Orphan Black, Season 3, John Fawcett and Graeme Manson, Temple Street Productions
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr, covers for ChiZine Publications
  • Best Fan Publication: Speculating Canada edited by Derek Newman-Stille
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, Chair, When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Best Fan Related Work: Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating, Canada on Trent Radio 92.7 FM

Online AGM voting closes this Tuesday

If you are unable to attend this year’s AGM at When Words Collide there are just a few days left to vote.  Our online forms make it easy and quick.  Your feedback is important to us.  We no longer allow proxy voting.  You must either vote online or in-person on Sunday August 14th at 9am in the Canmore room at the Delta Calgary South hotel.

 Online voting closes at midnight EDT on Tuesday, August 9th, 2016.

 The agenda for this year’s vote has some important items that will impact a number of the fan categories.  Full details can be found at:

 To vote online for this year’s AGM log into your account and then go to: