Eligibility lists are open

It’s that time of the year again.  This year’s Aurora eligibility lists are now open.  Nominations will begin in March.  We are asking CSFFA members to help us put in works done in 2017 by Canadians into the eleven award eligibility lists.

We are in the midst of creating a new and improved website but unfortunately, we are running behind so the eligibility lists will be the same as last year, at least for now.  Full details of the new site will be sent out once it’s been tested.

Once you have logged into you account you can access the lists here.


Aurora Award Stats

The 2017 Aurora results in grids shows the statistics on how our membership voted and nominated for this years awards.  The numbers in the grids are votes.   We recalculate the vote for each place by removing the previous top candidate.

The lists at the end shows the works that at least five of our membership nominated.  Please note: only the top five works can be referred to as Aurora nominees or finalists.

Voting closes Saturday

Voting for the 2017 Aurora Awards closes Saturday, September 2nd at the end of day, Midnight EDT.  That means it closes at 9pm in most of BC, 10pm in Alberta, 11pm in Manitoba, Midnight in Ontario and Quebec and 1am, Sunday, on the east coast.  Voting is open to all paid CSFFA members.

Kobo Canada is donating  an e-reader for one lucky voter.  Everyone who votes is eligible to have their name drawn.  The draw will happen at Canvention, Hal-Con (Hal-Con.com) in Halifax at the Aurora Awards ceremony.

All votes matter.  Don’t miss out.



Remembering H. A. Hargreaves

Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association Hall of Fame inductee, H. A. Hargreaves, passed away July 27, 2017 at the age of 89. A pioneer of the genre, his collection of short stories, North By 2000, was the first ever to be marketed as Canadian science fiction. His SF had a distinctly Canadian flavour: the stories addressed Canadian themes, were set in Canada, featured humble Canadian-style protagonists rather than alpha-male heroes, and came to Canadian-style ambiguous endings. For example, in his best known story, Dead to the World, the protagonist discovers that a computer error has listed him as dead; his tribulations in trying to correct the error lead him to conclude that he may actually be better off that way. Hargreaves stories – like the man himselfwere quiet and unassuming, yet deeply insightful, frequently moving, and always memorable. He will be missed, but his stories will always remain a crucial part of the Canadian SF canon.

We want to thank Robert Runte for writing this for us.


Planning to attend this year’s Aurora Awards?

For those that are going to at Hal-Con in Halifax  for Canvention and are planning to attend either the pin and/or the awards ceremonies we would like you to signup thought Hal-Con’s Eventbrite links. They want to know how many nominees and regular fans will be showing up.

Awards (link) or the Pin Ceremony (link) – private, only accessible by using the link.

All events are free and open to the public.  They are just using the RSVP system to get an estimated headcount for food at the Awards.